Housing Choice Voucher clients have an opportunity to access resources to help them become home owners. The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Homeownership program allows first-time homebuyers to use voucher assistance toward the purchase of a home. HCV families who are able to secure a mortgage loan based on income, credit and debt are eligible to participate in this rewarding program. The program also provides a first-time homebuyer training course that educates them on financing, property taxes and insurance, the role of the title company and homeowner responsibilities.


The Housing Choice Voucher program provides the opportunity for participants to exchange their housing choice voucher for a homeownership voucher. 

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Homeownership Program was created by HUD to assist low-income, first-time homebuyers in purchasing homes. Through the Homeownership option, a public housing agency may provide voucher assistance for an eligible family that purchases a dwelling unit for residence by the family.

To participate in the HCV homeownership program, the HCV family must meet specific income and employment requirements (the employment requirement does not apply to elderly and disabled families), be a first-time homeowner as defined in the regulation, attend and satisfactorily complete the pre-assistance homeownership and housing counseling program required by the PHA, and meet any additional eligibility requirements set by the PHA.

For the purposes of this program, a first-time homebuyer is defined as:

  • A single parent or a displaced homemaker who, during the preceding three years, was married and, while married, owned a home with his or her spouse, or lived in a home owned by his or her spouse.
  • A family that includes a person with a disability, in which any member has owned a unit during the preceding three years, but for which the PHA determines that the use of the homeownership option is necessary as a reasonable accommodation to make the program accessible to the family.

If you are a participant in the DHA Housing Choice Voucher program and you would like more information about the Homeownership Voucher program, please notify your Leasing Professional at DHA.

If you are a participant in the DHA Housing Choice Voucher program and you would like more information about the Homeownership Program, please share your information with us here:

Purchasing a home is a significant financial commitment. Persons interested in purchasing a home should thoroughly understand the requirements and steps in the home purchase and on-going home ownership process. Please consult DHA’s Family Self-Sufficiency team who can help to guide you to the resources, training and knowledge you will need to prepare for this important commitment. Monthly assistance will vary by client as it is unique to each client’s circumstances and income.

  • Families must meet the HUD minimum income limits (described above)
  • Families must demonstrate that they have been pre-approved or pre-qualified for financing in an amount sufficient to purchase decent, safe and sanitary housing of modest design in the public housing agency’s jurisdiction
  • One or more of the adult household members who own the home must be employed on a full-time basis (an average of 30 hours a week or more), and must have been continuously employed for the year prior to the beginning of homeownership assistance. (The employment requirements stated herein do not apply to an elderly or disabled family (head, spouse or sole member that is elderly or disabled))
  • The family may not have previously defaulted on a mortgage when receiving homeownership voucher assistance for any reason
  • Families who wish to participate in the Homeownership Voucher program must first attend and complete a homeownership counseling program sanctioned by DHA
  • Single-family houses, single dwelling units in a cooperative or condominium development, and manufactured homes that are permanently installed on land that will be owned by the family (or where the family has the right to occupy the land for at least 40 years) are eligible for purchase under the Homeownership Voucher Program. Units purchased under a lease-purchase agreement may be eligible for rental assistance prior to the actual sale, and for homeownership assistance after the unit has been sold to the family (provided the family meets the homeownership eligibility requirements, was selected by the PHA, and has completed the pre-assistance homeownership counseling program at the time the family will assume ownership of the unit)
  • Units assisted under the Homeownership Voucher program must meet HUD’s Housing Quality Standards and an inspection performed by a professional home inspection firm (this third party professional inspection must be hired and paid for by the family)
  • The family must submit a copy of the contract of sale to DHA for review
  • The primary responsibility for securing the necessary financing rests with the family

  • For families who finance the purchase of their home with a mortgage of a 20-year term or longer, the maximum term of the homeownership assistance is 15 years. For families with shorter mortgage terms, the maximum is 10 years.
  • The term limits do not apply to elderly or disabled families (head, spouse or sole member elderly or disabled) at the time of purchase.

No. Homeownership intention is not a local preference at DHA.

Yes. The home must pass an initial housing quality standards inspection conducted by DHA. DHA strongly recommends that the home buyer arrange for an independent home inspection by a licensed professional before purchasing the home.

Monthly homeownership expenses generally include:

  1. Mortgage principal and interest
  2. Mortgage insurance premium
  3. Real estate taxes and homeowner insurance
  4. Utilities (water, sewer, electricity, and/or gas)
  5. Home repairs and maintenance
  6. Condominium fees or homeowners association dues
  7. Telephone, cable TV, and internet

No. Home buyers may select any qualified private lender. DHA’s Family Self-Sufficiency program team is available to work with you and your lender of choice during this process.

The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children.

If you believe your rights have been violated, you may learn more about your rights and submit a complaint through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD): ONLINE COMPLIANT FORM

The US Department of HUD has established a regulatory minimum income requirement for participation in the Homeownership Voucher program.  At the time the family begins receiving homeownership assistance, the adult family members of a non-disabled family who will own the home must meet collectively a minimum non-welfare annual income requirement that is not less than the Federal minimum hourly wage ($6.55 at the drafting of this publication) multiplied by 2,000 hours ($13,100).  For a disabled family (a family whose head, spouse or sole member is a person with disabilities), the adult family members who will own the home must have an annual income that is not less than the monthly Federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefit for an individual living alone multiplied by 12 (in 2005, that monthly SSI benefit is $579, resulting in a minimum income requirement of $6,948).