YOUR GUIDE TO
DHA affordable housing

THERE ARE HELPFUL RESOURCES RIGHT HERE TO GUIDE YOU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY.

We believe everyone deserves a place to call home.

Hear the real-life stories from our clients and residents.

WATCH THE VIDEO

DHA HAS TWO MAIN HOUSING OPTIONS:

DHA-OWNED AND MANAGED HOUSING PROPERTIES and
HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER PROGRAM (SECTION 8)
which offers rental assistance for private market housing of your choice.

Use this quick comparison chart to determine which DHA affordable housing solution is the best for you.

INCOME LIMITS

DHA’s affordable housing program admissions are based on an area median income (AMI), which is calculated according to your gross annual income (before taxes and benefits are deducted).

DHA follows state and federal income limits to determine eligibility. Here is a reference chart that has the most recent area median income (AMI) metrics for your reference.

If you cannot afford your current rent, Dallas County has some funds set aside to help its residents avoid eviction through rent/utilities payment support. DHA does not provide support for emergency rent/utilities payments.

For more information about this resource, please visit:
NEEDHELPPAYINGBILLS.COM

THE HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER PROGRAM

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program (formerly known as the Section 8 program) is a rental housing assistance solution that places housing choice in the hands of the individual or family.

LEARN MORE

DHA RESIDENTIAL COMMUNITIES

DHA Residential Communities are made up of affordable rental housing for low to moderate income families and individuals.

VIEW PROPERTIES

SENIORS AND PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

Seniors and persons with disabilities are eligible for affordable housing support

READ MORE

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES FOR LOW INCOME HOUSING TAX CREDIT DEVELOPMENTS IN DALLAS

The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs provides a statewide listing of low-income housing tax-credit properties. This list includes multi-family properties that have allocated affordable housing units for low to moderate income families you can also apply for.

To apply, please contact each property directly. These properties are not affiliated with DHA. To view the list of affordable housing properties listed by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs,  CLICK HERE

To search affordable housing properties listed by HUD, CLICK HERE

 

IF YOU ARE IN NEED OF EMERGENCY SHELTER OR ARE IN A DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SITUATION, HERE ARE SOME RESOURCES FOR YOU:

EMERGENCY SHELTERS

The Red Cross (www.redcross.org)
Phone for Dallas Chapter: 214-678-4800

Housing Crisis Center (www.hccdallas.org)
4210 Junius Street Dallas, TX 75246
Phone: 214-828-4244

Austin Street Center (www.austinstreet.org)
2929 Hickory Street Dallas, TX 75226
Phone: 214-428-4242

Interfaith Dallas (www.interfaithdallas.org)
Phone: 214-827-7220

The Bridge (www.bridgenorthtexas.org)
1818 Coricana Street Dallas, TX 75201
Phone: 214-670-1128

The Samaritan Inn (www.thesamaritaninn.org)
Phone: 214-827-7220

Dallas Life Foundation (www.dallaslife.org)
1100 Cadiz Street Dallas, TX 75215
Phone: 214-421-1380

Union Gospel Mission (www.ugmdallas.org)
Phone: 214-637-6117

Family Gateway (www.familygateway.org)
Phone/Emergency Hotline: 214-941-1991

FOR THOSE FLEEING DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Brighter Tomorrows (www.brightertomorrows.net)
928 Bluebird Dr. Irving, TX 75061
Phone: 972-254-4003

Family Place (www.familyplace.org)
Residence Location Undisclosed
Phone/Emergency Hotline: 214-941-1991

Genesis Women’s Shelter (www.genesisshelter.org)
Residence Location Undisclosed
Office Location: 4411 Lemmon Avenue, Suite 201 Dallas, TX 75219
Phone/Emergency Hotline: 214-946-4357
Main Office: 214-389-7700

Hope’s Door New Beginning Center (www.newbeginningcenter.org)
218 North Tenth St. Garland, TX 75040
Phone: 972-276-0057

River of Life (www.riveroflifehomes.org)
Phone: 214-886-3563

Salvation Army (www.salvationarmydfw.org)
Residence Location Undisclosed
Carr P. Collins Social Service Center
Service Center Location: 5302 Harry Hines Blvd. Dallas, TX 75235
Phone: 214-424-5234